A note to the haters

Hey guys,

Today’s post is more or less a career rant, it is a rant about something that I have experienced often when I tell people, specifically those in the creative industry that I want to become an entertainment journalist.

tumblr_inline_mkamgio7uv1qz4rgp

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to be like Ryan Seacrest, I didn’t just want to be like him… I wanted to be him. My passion for entertainment journalism started at a relatively young age, 7 to be precise and my love for the industry has only grown as I have got older and seen just how much the media, particularly the entertainment industry and ‘celebrity’ culture shapes our identity and influences how we see ourselves.

*Disclaimer: Some of you may be thinking, why was a seven year old watching E! News and not Noddy or something, well I had an older sister and she controlled what we watched a lot of the time so those of you that have older siblings can relate. Blame her for getting me hooked, my mum certainly wasn’t impressed, she used to force me to watch ITV News with Trevor McDonald so I could see it ‘from both sides’ and be more socially aware.*

ryan_seacrest_0_1452600391

But, back to my rant, my issue is that so many people in the industry often turn their nose up at entertainment journalism for not being serious enough, important enough, or even socially active, which is both ignorant and a indication of the lack of diversity within newsrooms and the industry.

This idea that a young person can’t talk about One Direction and White privilege or the economy is a reflection of the backward ideologies that have dominated the media industry for far too long. It’s time for a change!

Just because I want to write about Selena Gomez’s latest single or Harry Style’s new girlfriend, does not mean that I am lazy or absent minded… I have always been vocal about human rights and socially active, I will continue to do so within my career. Even within entertainment, one can hold others to account and stand up for those deprived of a voice.

I truly believe that if you are passionate about standing for something, you can do it all.

tumblr_nkwpmwwd0h1su2uowo8_500

I don’t just do this for myself, I do it for my family, I do it for my friends who have supported me since day 1, I do it for the young people from working class backgrounds who have dreams but need purpose, I do it for my future, but most importantly I do it for those who don’t have a voice, who no matter how loud they shout never get heard.

I need you to know that I hear you and I am here for you, we will do this together and one day we will ride together. I just need to fight for us.

There is a common misconception that us millennials do not care about things that matter, what is it they call us… the ‘snowflakes.’

selfiegifbrooklyn

We only care about selfies, avocados, coconut water and Buzzfeed right?

Some of us do, some of don’t, some of us love all of that and can school you on just about anything you throw at us.. the good thing about us ‘snowflakes’ is that we are socially intersectional and will continue to break barriers and plough through ignorance and hate.

How many of our elders can look in the mirror and say the same?

Before I leave, I just want to say Happy Pride Month to all my LGBT readers. Let’s all spread the rainbow and just love each other because at the end of the day- love wins!

tumblr_nql0xj0mgt1to0xr0o1_500

Until next time,

Savannah

xoxo

Leave a Reply

